No movement on council races as deadline looms

City clerks in Algoma, Kewaunee, and Sturgeon Bay say no new names have taken out nomination papers, but there are still many to be returned before Wednesday’s deadline.


Papers are still out in Sturgeon Bay for potential council candidates Ryan Herlache, Sarah Evenson, Sean Linnan, Laurel Hauser, and Dawn Goodban. A potential primary is possible in District 7 if Hauser and Herlache join Kirsten McFarlin on the ballot.


Algoma could have to rely on a write-in candidate to fill its open seat in District 2 after Jacque Wiese filed her non-candidacy papers earlier this month.


Kewaunee’s incumbent council members Art Schiller, Jeff Dworak, and David Kuehl are poised to make returns to their seats with Joe Mills replacing John Griffith in the third district.


Nomination papers are due back by 5 p.m. January 2nd

Search Our Site

Current Weather




How concerned are you that the Delta variant numbers will continue to increase?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.

Birthday Club

Sports Poll

Do you agree with Aaron Rodgers and the Green Bay Packers' decision to bring back Randall Cobb?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.

Obituaries are provided as a service of the

Schinderle Funeral Home of Algoma


Click Here for more Obituaries

Obituary posting fee is $25


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Get the latest news with our Daily Electronic Newspaper delivered to your inbox.

Get the latest updates for Big Deals delivered to your inbox every Monday, Wednesday & Friday.