Sturgeon Bay Council election looks to have only one name on ballots; Avenson not running

Any competition for the Sturgeon Bay Common Council seats in the April election will likely be by write-in ballots.  After Tuesday’s deadline for nomination papers, District 2 Incumbent David Hayes will seek re-election along with District 6 representative Seth Wiederanders.  In District 4, Kelly Avenson has chosen not to run for re-election while Spencer Gustafson has turned in papers and looks to take over her position.  Since Avenson did not file non-candidacy papers, District 4’s deadline for filing has been extended to 5 pm Friday.  A primary will only be necessary if two additional people file for candidacy in District 4 by Friday.   

News Videos

Sports Videos

Search Our Site




Is America ready to elect a woman president?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.

Sports Poll

Will you watch spring training baseball?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.

Obituaries are provided as a service of the

Schinderle Funeral Home of Algoma


Click Here for more Obituaries

Obituary posting fee is $25


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper and/or our Shopping Show newsletter!


Get the latest news with our Daily Electronic Newspaper delivered to your inbox.


Get the latest updates for our Shopping Show delivered to your inbox every Friday.