Listen Live



Daily Newsletter


Former mayor looks to join Algoma City Council

Wayne Schmidt does not plan on being done serving the community after suffering a loss in the Algoma mayoral race earlier this year. Schmidt returned his paperwork last week to run for the District 3 seat vacated by Steve Lautenbach. District 1 alderperson John Pabich and Lautenbach returned their non-candidacy forms earlier this month. John Ortlieb has started the process to replace Pabich on the council. District 2’s Midge Swedberg and District 4’s Lee Dachelet have returned their paperwork for their re-election bids.


No changes were reported in the other two elections for city council seats in Sturgeon Bay and Kewaunee. Sturgeon Bay may not see any change as incumbents Helen Bacon (District 1), Dan Williams (District 3), Gary Nault (District 5), and Kirsten Reeths (District 7) are the only ones to have taken nomination papers out in their bids for re-election. Kewaunee is the only one with a potential contested election as Joe Mills looks to reclaim his seat from District 3 alderperson, Robin Nelson. No one has submitted paperwork to run for the seat vacated by District 4 alderperson Richard Taylor.


Interested candidates have until January 3rd at 5 p.m. to return the necessary paperwork to run for office in the spring election. If needed, a spring primary will occur on February 21st before the general election slated for April 4th.

Search Our Site


Current Weather



Who will win the congressional seat this fall now that Rep. Mike Gallagher is leaving?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


Cheryl Jome

Sports Poll


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Plus, Get the latest updates for Local Sports, Obituaries and more delivered to your inbox!