Listen Live



Daily Newsletter


No changes in city races ahead of final weekend

If you plan on running for office this spring, you are running out of time. The spring election is made up mostly of local municipal races, though the state Supreme Court race could be what drives people to the polls. Jennifer Dorow, Daniel Kelly, Janet Protasiewicz, and Everett Mitchell all filed campaign registration statements as of Thursday. According to the Wisconsin Elections Commission, Dorow is the only one to have returned their nomination papers in the race to replace retiring Justice Patience Roggensack.


Closer to home, the races for the area’s three city councils look very much the same as they did a week ago. Kewaunee is the only one with a potential contested election as Joe Mills looks to reclaim his seat from District 3 alderperson, Robin Nelson. No one has submitted paperwork to run for the vacated seat by District 4 alderperson Richard Taylor. John Blaha (District 1) and Wendy Shelton (District 2) are also running for re-election. Algoma will have at least two new members if everything stays the same as Wayne Schmidt (District 3) and John Ortlieb (District 1) hope to be seated as city council members. Midge Swedberg (District 2) and Lee Dachelet (District 4) are running for re-election. It could be just incumbents in Sturgeon Bay, as nobody but Helen Bacon (District 1), Dan Williams (District 3), Gary Nault (District 5), and Kirsten Reeths (District 7) have taken out nomination papers for signatures.


In addition to the city races, the Village of Sister Bay put out a special call-out for candidates last week. Mary Lyon resigned from her post on the village board earlier this month, and a candidate is needed to finish her term, which runs until April 2024. Incumbents Scott Baker and Chad Kodanko recently filed their non-candidacy papers, creating another pair of voids on the board if no one runs.


Interested candidates have until January 3rd at 5 p.m. to return the necessary paperwork to run for office in the spring election. If needed, a spring primary will occur on February 21st before the general election slated for April 4th.


Picture courtesy of Pixabay

Search Our Site


Current Weather



Who will win the congressional seat this fall now that Rep. Mike Gallagher is leaving?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


Cheryl Jome

Sports Poll


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Plus, Get the latest updates for Local Sports, Obituaries and more delivered to your inbox!