Listen Live



Daily E-lert


Twenty high school fine arts students honored by Sturgeon Bay Breakfast Rotary

Some of the best high school artists across several disciplines that you have seen over the past year were honored Sunday by the Sturgeon Bay Breakfast Rotary. Twenty students from Southern Door, Sevastopol, Gibraltar, and Sturgeon Bay high schools were recognized for their contributions during the 21st Annual Rotary Fine Arts Awards of Excellence. Teachers at all five Door County high schools could nominate students in the areas of instrumental music, choral music, visual arts, drama, forensics, and journalism. We have the award winners and their disciplines listed below:


  • Sevastopol: Lucas Apsey (Choral Music), Teagan Ellefson (Journalism), Scott Derkez (Art), Reese Schauske (Instrumental Music), and Sean Eicher (Drama)
  • Gibraltar: Thelonious “Theo” Goode (Instrumental Music), Nick Davis (Choral Music), Bekka Porter (Drama), Emerson Lecy (Forensics), and Makenzie Koehler (Journalism)
  • Southern Door: Beyounce Hernandez (Instrumental Music), Zachery Rhoads (Choral Music), Gary Barta (Drama), Michael Nessinger  (Forensics), Emily Purdy (Art), and Amanda Austin (Journalism)
  • Sturgeon Bay: Rayna Hoffman (Art), Ainsley Stephan (Instrumental Music), Noelia Sanchez Rodriquez (Choral Music), and Ian Clay Estes (Drama)

Search Our Site

Current Weather




Who do you believe presents the biggest challenge to Donald Trump for the Republican Party's nomination for next fall's election? Ron DeSantis Nikki Haley Chris Christie Vivak Ramaswamy Other
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


Click Here for more Obituaries

Obituary posting fee is $25

Sports Poll


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Plus, Get the latest updates for Local Sports, Obituaries and more delivered to your inbox!