Listen Live



Daily E-lert


Budzban takes command at the hill

Chris Budzban took a big step toward a potential Sport Mod championship, scoring his second feature win of the season Thursday night at The Hill Raceway in Sturgeon Bay.

Joining Budzban in the winner’s circle on the night were Brett Koehler in the Stock Cars, Dave DeGrave in the Street Stocks and DJ Jorgenson in the Baby Bombers.


The Sport Mod feature evolved into a three-car match race between Budzban, Aaron Butterbrodt and longtime veteran Eugene Gregorich.


Butterbrodt had taken the lead from George Henkel on the 3rd lap, but two cautions wiped away sizeable advantages.  The latter caution on the 12th lap set the stage for the final dash with Budzban and Gregorich lined up in the second row.


The three pulled away from the field, with Budzban first taking the lead on the 16th lap only to lose it to Butterbrodt one lap later.  At the finish all three cars crossed the nearly together with Budzban hanging on for the win.  Butterbrodt was second, with the 4-time Modified champ Gregorich coming from his 5th row starting spot for 3rd.


Super Late Model veteran Cory Kemkes advanced from deep in the field to place 4th in his second ever visit to The Hill.


The win, coupled with issues for many of the frontrunners in the class, jumped Budzban to a 13 point cushion over Dennis Miesler in the title chase.


In the Stock Cars, Koehler worked inside of Tony Bouche on the 5th lap en route to his first win of the season.  Scott Boulanger, Brett Wenzel and Scott Reinhardt all logged strong runs from mid-pack to finish in the top four, with Bouche turning in his best finish of the season placing fifth.


A sour beginning to the season turned much better for DeGrave as he posted his second straight feature win in the Street Stocks.  With the low point average, DeGrave was able to parlay his second row staring spot to a commanding lead.


2-time winner Chase Solomon and regular track announcer, and now part time racer, Ed Anschutz gave chase, but neither could mount a serious challenge to the eventual winner.  The win was DeGrave’s 27th career at the track, leaving him one short of cracking the Raceway’s all-time top ten.


The broom was out in the Baby Bomber class as Jorgenson scored a clean sweep in the division, leading from green to checker in the finale.  TJ Everard passed Scott Schlafke in the closing laps to take second.


The Stock Cars were the featured class in the Busch Shootout, with Wenzel coming home the winner.


Next on the schedule will be Hall of Fame night at The Hill, along with the Troy Rass Memorial.  Action in the four divisions, along with the induction ceremony, is slated for Saturday night, August 17th with a 6:00PM start time.


The Hill Raceway results 8/2/2018

Stock Car Feature:  Brett Koehler, Two Creeks – Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg - Brett Wenzel, Manitowoc  – Scott Reinhardt, Bailey Harbor – Tony Bouche, Algoma – Larry Karcz, Jr, Pulaski

B-Main LCQ:  Zach Spangenberg, Manitowoc – Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay – Jeremy Anschutz, Brussels – Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg

Heat 1:  Boulanger - Bouche

Heat 2:  Jeremy Jauquet, Green Bay – Tom Brumlic, Denmark

Heat 3:  John Anschutz, Forestville – Aaron Karcz, Pulaski

Sport Mod Feature:  Chris Budzban, Luxemburg – Aaron Butterbrodt, Hubertus – Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee – Cory Kemkes, Appleton – Rick LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay – Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

Heat 1:  George Henkel, Sturgeon Bay - Budzban

Heat 2:  Randy Theys, Algoma - Butterbrodt

Street Stock Feature:  Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg – Chase Solomon, Oshkosh - Ed Anschutz, Two Rivers – Chad Naze, Green Bay – Ford Malvitz, Sturgeon Bay – Dan VanPay, Denmark

B-Main LCQ:  Anschutz – Nathan Delsart, Sturgeon Bay – Nick Wunrow, Denmark – Geno Sternard, Brussels

Heat 1:  Corey Sampone, Sturgeon Bay - Solomon

Heat 2:  Malvitz – Roger LaViolette, Forestville

Heat 3:  DeGrave – Shannon Guelette, Brussels

Baby Bomber Feature:  DJ Jorgenson, Oneida – TJ Everard, Green Bay - Scott Schlafke, Cleveland – Tony Everard, Green Bay – Kasey Gross, Gleason – Kyle Jorgenson, Oneida

Heat 1: DJ Jorgenson - Schlafke

Search Our Site

Current Weather




Who do you believe presents the biggest challenge to Donald Trump for the Republican Party's nomination for next fall's election? Ron DeSantis Nikki Haley Chris Christie Vivak Ramaswamy Other
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


Click Here for more Obituaries

Obituary posting fee is $25

Sports Poll


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Plus, Get the latest updates for Local Sports, Obituaries and more delivered to your inbox!