Listen Live



Daily E-lert


Five local athletes earn outstanding scholar achievement awards

Four student-athletes from Kewaunee highlighted a list of kids from Door and Kewaunee Counties showing that success on the field and in the classroom can happen.


The Packerland Conference announced the 2019-20 scholar-athlete awards on Wednesday after league principals nominated a pair of boys and girls student athletes, cheerleaders, pom/dance squad members, student trainers and managers from their schools for the honor. All the student-athletes recognized must be a second-semester senior, earn at least four varsity letters during their career. and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0. Five local athletes earned outstanding achievement awards, which go to students that were three-sport athletes while earning at least seven varsity letters and a 4.0 grade point average. Sturgeon Bay's Sarah Bridenhagen and Kewaunee's Tanor Bortolini, Max Hanrahan, Owen Kudick, and Hailey Gaedtke earned the distinction. Below is a list of the other students given scholar-athlete awards.


Sturgeon Bay
Adison Benziner, Jake Schneider, Katie Frank, Marina Jeanquart


Southern Door
Brock Aune, Sam Dean, Jacqlyn Atkins, Kendra Dantoin


Caden Kacmarynski, Evan Lardinois, Kailee Moe, Mya Ploor


Brady Ash, Ben Fitzgerald, Bella Bunda, Kayla Scharrig


Benjamin Fahrenkrug, Chase Peronto, Jenny Farley, Melissa Srnka


Tanor Bortolini, Ryan Carmichael, Katherine Metzler, Mackenzie Tlachac

Search Our Site

Current Weather




With about 72 percent of holiday shoppers planning to buy from small businesses this year, according to a Bank Rate survey, where do you plan on doing the majority of your shopping?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


Click Here for more Obituaries

Obituary posting fee is $25

Sports Poll


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Plus, Get the latest updates for Local Sports, Obituaries and more delivered to your inbox!