Listen Live



Daily Newsletter


The King of the Hill returns

Todd Dart’s first win at the Thunderhill Speedway in Sturgeon Bay came way back on May 15, 1993; the third night ever at the recently reopened track. 

While the track is now known as The Hill Raceway, some things never change.   

Dart, the winningest driver in Sturgeon Bay history and seven-time division champ, notched his 59th career victory at the track as the Modifieds returned for their second visit of the season to The Hill on Saturday night. 

Other winners in the spotlight were Luke Lemmens in the Stock Cars, Randy LeMieux, Jr in the Sport Mods, Dave DeGrave in the Unified Dirt Street Stocks and TJ Everard in the 4 cyliders. 

In the Modified feature, Josh Lambert appeared to be headed to his second straight Hill win, with Greg Gretz, Jay Matthias and Dart in pursuit; close but not close enough for a pass attempt. 

But with just seven laps to go, Lambert clipped an infield tire ending his night. 

Gretz assume the lead, but held it for only two laps, as Dart sped past, pulling away to a convincing win. 

Gretz, Matthias, Vince Engebretsen and Kelsy Hayes completed the top five. 

The Stock Car feature proved to be the Luke Lemmens show, as he grabbed the lead at the drop of the green and was never challenged in the non-stop 20 lap affair. 

Dan Sell, Jr made a steady climb forward, advancing from his 5th row starting spot to take over second on the 12th lap, but by that time, Lemmens lead was insurmountable. 

Dave Bouche, Jeremy Anschutz and Brett Wenzel were next across the stripe.  For Wenzel, his fifth top five run of the season increased his division point lead over Brett Koehler to 24. 

After his second win of the year, LeMieux bumped his lead over Jeff Vlies to 8 points in the Sport Mods. 

Josh Massart and Mike Plate shared point duties until Cody Rass took over with just four laps to go.  LeMieux mounted a late charge, pulling even with Rass on the final lap. 

LeMieux edged ahead through three and four and won the drag race to the line.  Plate and Massart were next in line with Jerry Duggan making the most of his first Hill visit of the season, placing fifth. 

DeGrave continued his trek to get back to the top of the point standings in the Street Stocks with his fourth win in five nights.  The only blemish was a DNF in week two. 

DeGrave took advantage of a caution with 7 laps to go to close in on leader Austin Steinke who was on point from the drop of the green.  On the 17th circuit, he gained the inside line, made the pass, and pulled away for the win. 

The feature proved to be a bit of a coming out party for third-generation racer Garrett Geyer, who raced in the top three for the bulk of the affair.  He placed a career best second, two spots better than his Hall of Fame father, Jason, with Steinke between them in third. 

Points leader Troy Muench salvaged a fifth place finish after falling back to 17th in the early going.  DeGrave closed to within 10 points of the lead, but it could have been much worse for Muench. 

Everard became the fifth different winner in five nights in the four cylinder bombers, passing Thomas Schulte on the 4th lap for the lead and eventual victory. 

A second place finish for Schulte, combined with off night for the leaders, allowed him to close within 10 of Tony Everard in the standings. 

Mike Meier, Dallas Topel and Adam Broehm rounded out the top five. 

The Hill’s next event is this Thursday night, July 29th; the annual Door County Fair race. 

Admission to the grounds does include grandstand admission to the races.  Admission cost is $7 prior to 5:00PM, $9 after.  Booster buttons, good for admission through the fairs entire run, are $18.  

The Raceway’s regular four divisions will be in action, along with the Sport Mod Busch Shootout. 

The Hill Raceway is located at The John Miles Fair Park, 812 North 14tht Ave in Sturgeon Bay, WI. All track information can be found on our Facebook @hillraceway or contact 920-495-6631. 

The Hill Raceway results 7/24/2021 

Modified 20 Lap Feature:  Todd Dart, Algoma – Greg Gretz, Kewaunee – Jay Matthias, Green Bay – Vince Engebretsen, Algoma – Kelsy Hayes, Hobart – Kyle Kudick, Mishicot 

Heat 1:  Gretz – Engebretsen 

Heat 2:  Kudick – Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont 

Stock Car 20 Lap Feature:  Luke Lemmens, DePere – Dan Sell, Jr, Suring – Dave Bouche, Algoma – Jeremy Anschutz, Brussels - Brett Wenzel, Manitowoc – Rick Mahlberg, Denmark 

LCQ 1:  Caden LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay – Gavin Techmeier, Green Bay – John Anschutz, Sturgeon Bay – Tom Stark, Egg Harbor 

Heat 1:  Kyle Domalick, DePere – Dan Sell 

Heat 2:  Lemmens – Jeremy Anschutz 

Heat 3:  John Adams, Denmark - Bouche 

Sport Mod 20 Lap Feature:  Randy LeMieux, Jr, Brussels – Cody Rass, Sturgeon Bay – Mike Plate, Valders – Josh Massart, Brussels – Jerry Duggan, Reifs Mills – Craig Dorner, Luxemburg  

Heat 1:  LeMieux- Massart 

Heat 2:  Roger LaViolette, Forestville - Rass 

Heat 3:  Plate – Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg 

Unified Dirt Street Stock 20 Lap Feature:  Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg – Garrett Geyer, Brussels – Austin Steinke, St. Nazianz – Jason Geyer, Brussels - Troy Muench, Brussels – Chad Naze, Green Bay 

LCQ 1:  Presley Harrington, Oshkosh – Kody LaViolette, Appleton – Amber Delsart, East Maplewood – Matt Malvitz, Sturgeon Bay 

LCQ 2:  Jimmy Anderson, Forestville – Dillon Ploor, Luxemburg – Scott Iverson, Sturgeon Bay – Nathan Delsart, Sturgeon Bay 

Heat 1:  Shannon Guelette, Luxemburg – Naze 

Heat 2:  Bailey LaViolette, Sturgeon Bay – Ford Malvitz, Sturgeon Bay 

Heat 3:  Muench – Jason Geyer 

Heat 4:  DeGrave – Cody Patten, Friendship 

Shootout:  Muench – DeGrave – TJ Everard, Green Bay – Ford Malvitz 

Baby Bomber Feature:  TJ Everard, Green Bay – Thomas Schulte, Kaukauna –Mike Meier, Chilton – Dallas Topel, Green Bay – Kyle Jorgenson, Oneida - Adam Broehm, Newton  

Heat 1: Broehm – David Cox, Seymour 

Heat 2: Everard - Schulte 

Search Our Site


Current Weather



Who will win the congressional seat this fall now that Rep. Mike Gallagher is leaving?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


Cheryl Jome

Sports Poll


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Plus, Get the latest updates for Local Sports, Obituaries and more delivered to your inbox!