Listen Live



Daily Newsletter


Only one contested election, vacancy for city council seats

Voters in Kewaunee will have the only contested election and the only seat needing a write-in among the three cities in Door and Kewaunee counties after the deadline to register passed on Tuesday. Joe Mills looks to reclaim his seat from District 3 alderperson Robin Nelson. No one has submitted paperwork to run for the vacated seat by District 4 alderperson Richard Taylor. John Blaha (District 1) and Wendy Shelton (District 2) are also running for re-election.


In Algoma, there will be at least two new members if everything stays the same, as Wayne Schmidt (District 3) and John Ortlieb (District 1) hope to be seated as city council members. Midge Swedberg (District 2) and Lee Dachelet (District 4) are running for re-election.


It will be just incumbents in Sturgeon Bay, as nobody but Helen Bacon (District 1), Dan Williams (District 3), Gary Nault (District 5), and Kirsten Reeths (District 7) submitted nomination papers.


Despite the lack of candidates on a local level, a primary will still need to be held for Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice. Waukesha County Court Judge Jennifer Dorow, former Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Daniel Kelly, Dane County Court Judge Everett Mitchell, and Milwaukee County Court Judge Janet Protasiewicz are running to replace the retiring Justice Patience Roggensack. The spring primary will be on February 21st, while the spring general election will take place on April 4th.

Search Our Site


Current Weather



Who will win the congressional seat this fall now that Rep. Mike Gallagher is leaving?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


Cheryl Jome

Sports Poll


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Plus, Get the latest updates for Local Sports, Obituaries and more delivered to your inbox!