Listen Live



Daily E-lert


Sharpe, Holmgren named Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

Two members of the Green Bay Packers teams of the 1990s took another step closer to Canton last week.


Former receiver Sterling Sharpe and former head coach Mike Holmgren were both named semifinalists to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Sharpe is one of the senior committee's dozen semifinalists while Holmgren is the same in the coach/contributor category. Below are who they are competing against for a spot in Canton next year according to


Senior category (last game in pro football played no later than 1998): Ken Anderson, Maxie Baughan, Roger Craig, Randy Gradishar, Joe Jacoby, Albert Lewis, Steve McMichael, Eddie Meador, Art Powell, Sterling Sharpe, Otis Taylor and Al Wistert.

Coach/contributor category: Tom Coughlin, Mike Holmgren, Frank "Bucko" Kilroy, Robert Kraft, Buddy Parker, Dan Reeves, Art Rooney Jr., Marty Schottenheimer, Mike Shanahan, Clark Shaughnessy, Lloyd Wells and John Wooten.

Search Our Site

Current Weather




What type of Christmas tree do you put up for the holidays?
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


Emma Hayot

Click Here for more Obituaries

Obituary posting fee is $25

Sports Poll


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Plus, Get the latest updates for Local Sports, Obituaries and more delivered to your inbox!