Listen Live



Daily E-lert


Bay Day! Sister Bay captures playoff championship on 105.1 The GOAT

For the second year in a row, a Door County League team won both traveling trophies as Sister Bay topped Washington Island  5-2 on a sun-splashed Sunday afternoon.


The Islanders opened the game up with two straight hits against the Bays' Sam Forkert, but he would show why he was the DCL Pitcher of the Year as sat down the next 11 batters to end any threats. Meanwhile, the Bays opened up 3-0 by the third inning lead thanks to an RBI single by Tom Sawyer, a run-scoring fielder's choice by Griffen Cole, and a fielding error by the Islanders.


After giving up a single to Matt Foss in the fourth inning, Forkert would go on another long string without allowing a hit, sitting down 14 of the next 15 batters including a pair of strikeouts. The Bays would tack on two more runs in the fifth inning thanks to an RBI single by Sawyer Johnson and a sacrifice fly by Forkert.


The Islanders have not been one to give up without a fight in the playoffs the last two years, and the top of the ninth was no exception. After Luke Geiger scored on a Ben Geiger fielder's choice, the stage was set for Troy Jorgenson. He would single up the middle past a diving Spencer Krause, but Cole backed up the play and threw a perfect strike to Sawyer at home to get the streaking Ben Geiger trying to score from second base.



Forkert went the distance, giving up the two runs on five hits while striking out three. Sawyer and Alex Laughlin each had multi-hit games for the Bays.



For the Islanders, Ryan Jorgenson took the loss as he gave up three runs in three-plus innings, giving up five hits and striking out. Foss picked him up, pitching the final six innings in relief allowing two runs and striking out one. Ben Johnson served both pitchers well in right field, making a number of sliding catches to keep even more Bays players off the basepaths.  


Search Our Site

Current Weather




Who do you believe presents the biggest challenge to Donald Trump for the Republican Party's nomination for next fall's election? Ron DeSantis Nikki Haley Chris Christie Vivak Ramaswamy Other
Add a Comment
(Fields are Optional)

Your email address is never published.


Click Here for more Obituaries

Obituary posting fee is $25

Sports Poll


Sign up for our Daily Electronic Newspaper!

Plus, Get the latest updates for Local Sports, Obituaries and more delivered to your inbox!